ElasticSearch Does Not Start on Clean Install

Hi, I'm a complete beginner to ElasticSearch and I haven't been able to find a question like this on these forums.

I have been trying to configure Logstash to talk to ElasticSearch where each are on a different VM. I was having a lot of problems, so I tried a clean install of ElasticSearch and ElasticSearch fails on startup. Not sure what's wrong, but here's all the info I have:

elasticsearch.service - Elasticsearch
   Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/system/elasticsearch.service; enabled; vendor preset: enabled)
   Active: failed (Result: exit-code) since Tue 2017-06-06 07:19:56 CDT; 13min ago
     Docs: http://www.elastic.co
  Process: 2249 ExecStart=/usr/share/elasticsearch/bin/elasticsearch -p ${PID_DIR}/elasticsearch.pid --quiet -Edefault.path.logs=${LOG_DIR} -Edefault.path.data=${DATA_DIR} -Edefault.path.conf=${CONF_DIR} 
  Process: 2246 ExecStartPre=/usr/share/elasticsearch/bin/elasticsearch-systemd-pre-exec (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)
 Main PID: 2249 (code=exited, status=1/FAILURE)

Jun 06 07:18:43 mukund-VirtualBox systemd[1]: Starting Elasticsearch...
Jun 06 07:18:43 mukund-VirtualBox systemd[1]: Started Elasticsearch.
Jun 06 07:19:56 mukund-VirtualBox systemd[1]: elasticsearch.service: Main process exited, code=exited, status=1/FAILURE
Jun 06 07:19:56 mukund-VirtualBox systemd[1]: elasticsearch.service: Unit entered failed state.
Jun 06 07:19:56 mukund-VirtualBox systemd[1]: elasticsearch.service: Failed with result 'exit-code'.

For the elasticsearch.yml file, I have cluster.name, node.name, node.master, node.data, path.data. path.logs, and bootstrap.memory_lock set up. For some reason the log doesn't say anything about what went wrong.

I also ran ElasticSearch with these commands:
sudo systemctl enable elasticsearch.service
sudo systemctl start elasticsearch
sudo systemctl status elasticsearch
(The last command gives the above output)

Thank you in advance for any help!