Elasticsearch - High CPU usage for simple query while load testing

I have an Elasticsearch index having about 93 million documents (68.8GB) on 3 shards. While doing load testing (300 concurrent requests) with one certain query, the CPU usage shoots up to 100%. The query is fairly simple:

{"query": 
        {"bool": 
            {"must": [
                {"match": {"release_title": "Spider - Singles Collection 1976-86"}}, 
                {"match": {"track_title": "TALKIN BOUT ROCK N ROLL (New Version)"}}
                     ]
            }
        }
    }

However, if I make the same type of query with different strings, the CPU usage is normal.

Here is the link to the output of Hot Threads (I'm a beginner in ES, not sure how to interpret this): https://pastebin.com/XTs6vvUF

The system has 14 cores and 40GB of RAM. I've set the JVM heap size to 16GB. Could someone help me figure out what's going wrong?

Is this query hitting a lot of documents? Is this query different to other queries that you are using? How long is this query executing? Also, you can use the Profile API to see where the time is spent.

Note that by default a match uses an OR to combine terms, so you may just hit a lot of documents that require to be scored.

--Alex

1 Like

Yes, it's hitting a lot of documents (about 1.9 million).

The structure of the query is identical to the other queries I'm using, it's only the query string values that change. But I've noticed that the good queries (the ones which don't cause the CPU usage spike) hit a fewer number of documents (<0.1 million).

The query actually takes as low as only 40ms to execute, but while load testing (300 concurrent requests with the same query), it's taking an average of 2s and goes up to even 10s.

Ah, I didn't realize that was the default behavior of match. I've modified the query with AND and fuzziness (which is the intended behavior) and will keep you updated with the new results. Thank you!