Elasticsearch mapper_parsing_exception for field appearing both in text and object form

Hello,

I'm quite new to Elasticsearch and I'm trying since a few days to fix some indexing problems we have in our indices. The cause of this errors is that we have multiple applications logging data which finally ends up in the same index and some of these applications use different formats for the same fields. For example, an application logs "message" as a simple text field and other one as a JSON object field. Because we are using dynamic mapping, depending on which field gets indexed first, the mapping for the "message" field is saved to the index mappings as either (for JSON object, for instance):

"message" : {
          "properties" : {
            "key" : {
              "type" : "text",
              "fields" : {
                "keyword" : {
                  "type" : "keyword",
                  "ignore_above" : 256
                }
              }
            }
          }
        }

or as (for text):

"message" : {
          "type" : "text",
          "fields" : {
            "keyword" : {
              "type" : "keyword",
              "ignore_above" : 256
            }
          }
        }

When Elasticsearch tries then to index the field “message” in the other form, we get:

{
  "error" : {
    "root_cause" : [
      {
        "type" : "mapper_parsing_exception",
        "reason" : "failed to parse field [message] of type [text] in document with id 'UX1v5H4BdDgf7Zt3AJCj'. Preview of field's value: '{key=b}'"
      }
    ],
    "type" : "mapper_parsing_exception",
    "reason" : "failed to parse field [message] of type [text] in document with id 'UX1v5H4BdDgf7Zt3AJCj'. Preview of field's value: '{key=b}'",
    "caused_by" : {
      "type" : "illegal_state_exception",
      "reason" : "Can't get text on a START_OBJECT at 2:14"
    }
  },
  "status" : 400
}