Elasticsearch org.elasticsearch.index.engine.EngineException"failed to recover translog"

Hi guys, I'm an intern at my software engineering company adding a health endpoint (using Spring Actuator) to our API for our Elasticsearch service.

I am using POSTMAN to view the JSON response and it's sending it correctly, but listing Elasticsearch as "OUT_OF_SERVICE":
38%20AM

Upon further inspection, I found when I boot up ./elasticsearch from local on the terminal (Mac) , it is throwing some errors for "failed to recover translog" , which another developer indicted to me might be the issue. It's a pretty big log. Is there a way to upload or copy and paste it here to get some help?

I would like to avoid having to reinstall Elasticsearch if its a minor fix.

Anyhelp would be greatly appreciated

Here is just some of the output , but I can copy and paste the entire thing if need be:

Also, after some googling , I managed to find other people with similar issues (corrupted trans logs?) and found this link on one of the threads:
https://www.elastic.co/guide/en/elasticsearch/reference/6.3/index-modules-translog.html#corrupt-translog-truncation

However , when running the command :
$bin/elasticsearch-translog -d /var/lib/elasticsearchdata/nodes/

.. I get this output in terminal:
ERROR StatusLogger No Log4j 2 configuration file found. Using default configuration (logging only errors to the console), or user programmatically provided configurations. Set system property 'log4j2.debug' to show Log4j 2 internal initialization logging. See https://logging.apache.org/log4j/2.x/manual/configuration.html for instructions on how to configure Log4j 2

A CLI tool for various Elasticsearch translog actions

Commands
    --------
    truncate - Removes corrupted shard files

Non-option arguments:
    command              

Option         Description        
    ------         -----------        
    -h, --help     show help          
    -s, --silent   show minimal output