ElasticSearch status is yellow (Unassigned Shards)

Hi

My current Elasticsearch on querying for cluster health is "yellow"
curl 'localhost:9200/_cluster/health?pretty'
{
"cluster_name" : "elasticsearch",
"status" : "yellow",
"timed_out" : false,
"number_of_nodes" : 2,
"number_of_data_nodes" : 1,
"active_primary_shards" : 456,
"active_shards" : 456,
"relocating_shards" : 0,
"initializing_shards" : 0,
"unassigned_shards" : 456
}

I am pretty new to elasticsearch but on reading up on net, i feel it's due to unassigned shards.
How can i change my status to green?

Thanks !

You only have a single data node, yet your indexes are configured to have replicas. That creates an impossible situation since ES refuses to allocate the primary shard and replica shards on the same node. Either add a node so that you can have replicas or disable replicas. When the number of unassigned shards drops to zero the cluster will go green.

Hi Magnus,

Thanks for the reply !

I was wondering why do i have number of nodes: 2 when i am running it on a single machine. I read up on the net that it's foolhardy to disable replicas. But currently i can run it on a single machine only. Is there a way i can maintain it well on a single machine or disabling replicas is the only way to go about it.

Also i haven't worked on configuration of Elasticsearch, suppose if i do end up running it on two machines. How can i control which one is master and which one is replica. I can use one more machine but i want to put minimal processing on it.

Thanks again. :slight_smile:

@colings86 (maybe you have a few pointers on this)

I was wondering why do i have number of nodes: 2 when i am running it on a single machine.

Perhaps Logstash is connecting using the node protocol? That would certainly explain why you have two nodes but only one data node.