Establishing graph connections

Hi,

I'm currently new to graph and have been learning its API using CSV exports from crunchbase that I indexed into Elasticsearch. Each company in the database currently has a company name, a list of categories that are associated with that company, city, region, and other data for that company.

I would like to establish and expand on connections between companies with related fields. However, I am only able to establish these connections when selecting more than one field along with the company name, such as below when I select both the name and category fields.

Ideally I would like to be able to select only the company name field, and from there expand on other related company names based off of not only the categories, but all the fields that are part of the company. In a way similar to the graph capabilities video where a musician's name was searched, and from there the musician was able to expand to other musicians that were related.

Is there a way to produce this graph with the company data, or are there any other tools I could use to produce this? Additionally, is it possible to insert request queries into the graph to produce a similar effect?

Thanks!

We'd need to narrow down exactly what data you are using and on what basis you want to make connections. For example, it looks like there would be a "competitors" graph you could create from the "competitors.csv" file here: Daily CSV Export

From there you can create docs like this:

POST competitors/link
{
	"competitors" : ["Microsoft", "Apple"]
}
POST competitors/link
{
	"competitors" : ["Spotify", "Apple"]
}

Change the Graph UI settings to work with these low-frequency signals:

Then search...

Thanks for the quick response.

I have been using the "organizations.csv" file from crunchbase where I have docs like the following:

{
"permalink": "/organization/10-20-media",
"name": "10-20 Media",
"homepage_url": "http://www.10-20media.com",
"category_list": [
"E-Commerce"
],