Extract timestamp from the logline

I am trying to index log files to Elastic search. All the log entries are being indexed into a field named message. @timestamp field shows the time the entry was indexed and not the timestamp from log entry.

I created a ingest pipeline with grok processor to define the pattern of the log entry. I have tried several patterns and am unable to get this working, particularly because i am new to grok.

All i want is the ability to extract the timestamp from the log message and everything else can be ignored or wildcarded or stored in just one variable like message

Any help would be appreciated

Log sample
2019-08-05 00:04:06 error [error.js]: No authorization token was found
2019-08-05 00:04:06 info [index.js]: Request: HTTP GET /
2019-08-05 00:04:06 error [error.js]: No authorization token was found

Ingest pipeline with grok & date processor
{
"description" : "Extracting date from log line"
, "processors": [
{
"grok": {
"field": "message",
"patterns": ["%{yyyy-mm-dd HH:mm:ss:logtime} %{LOGLEVEL:loglevel} %{GREEDYDATA:message}"]
},
"date": {
"field": "logtime",
"target_field": "@timestamp",
"formats": ["yyyy-mm-dd HH:mm:ss"]
}
}
]
}

Justin ...

I ran into something similar trying to get JSON output from TShark into ElasticSearch .... for the life of me I couldn't get the timestamp to pull from the JSON log and translate properly ...

I found this article extremely helpful ...

https://www.elastic.co/guide/en/elasticsearch/reference/current/removal-of-types.html#_typeless_apis_in_7_0

Here's what I did step by step to make the timestamp show correctly ...

1. From the Kibana console I created the Elasticsearch index first ...
  2. From the console I then added a document to the new index using the "PUT" command and tagging the end with ?pipeline=<pipeline_name>
  3. Tested the display of the timestamp using Kibana ...