Extracting full-text from an attachment field

I am a newbie for Elasticsearch. I'm working on an application which integrates Drupal with Elasticsearch 2.4.

Our current ES index has data with a field called "file_resource_url" with a full URL path to a PDF/DOC file. However, the text within those PDF/DOC file is currently not indexed and those attachments are not searchable.

I would like to users to be able to search against the full-text of the documents specified in the "file_resource_url" field.

Please provide guidance on how to go about this.

Also, note that the app with ES is currently deployed on a cloud foundry instance where my access is quite limited in terms of installing something new.

That's a shame, because there is the Ingest Attachment Processor Plugin (or the Mapper Attachment Plugin for pre-6.0 indices) that should be well suited for the job. I would check out if you can install it anyway.

If not, maybe its time to look into our Elastic Cloud offering, I'm pretty sure the plugin is available there.

Thanks for your response! I can reach out to them about Mapper Attachment plugin. I have installed that plugin in my local. But, I am unable to update the field type to attachment.

Here is how my index currently looks -

{
"took": 13,
"timed_out": false,
"_shards": {
"total": 14,
"successful": 14,
"failed": 0
},
"hits": {
"total": 172,
"max_score": 1,
"hits": [
{
"_index": "appindex",
"_type": "appindex",
"_id": "8",
"_score": 1,
"_source": {
"id": 8,
"body:format": "filtered_html",
"body:value": "text text text",
"changed": "1506460443",
"field_attachment_resource:file:fid": "12",
"field_attachment_resource:file:mime": "application/pdf",
"field_attachment_resource:file:name": "SampleDocument.pdf",

This is the current mapping of "field_attachement_resource":

{
  "appindex" : {
    "mappings" : {
      "appindex" : {
        "properties" : {  
		"field_attachment_resource:file:fid" : {
            "type" : "string"
          },