Filebeat + Apache2 configuration help!

Hi,

I'm new to the ELK stack and am trying to figure out how to configure filebeat+apache 2. I have the system doing some basic work such as syslog going from filebeat->logstash->ES, but I'm finding the documentation for setting up apache2 module very sparse.

Basically I have an apache 2.2 server outputting in a custom log format. I want to use filebeat and the apache2 module to read those logs, push the data to logstash->ES. The documentation on the elastic site is not very detailed on what needs to be done.

1. How do I get filebeat + apache module to read the custom format? I have some basic configuration for the module (ie. file paths) but where and how do I setup the custom log format I'm using? My apache2 custom log format:
    LogFormat "%{X-ClientIP}i %{True-Client-IP}i %h %D %l %u %t "%r" %>s %b "%{Referer}i" "%{User-Agent}i" %X "%{u_locale}C" "%{u_locale}i" "%{u_locale}o"" combined

2. What do I need to do on the logstash server?

I have not configured any prospectors (I'm assuming I need to based on the log output when I try to set this up):
./filebeat -e --modules apache2 -setup

beat.go:346: CRIT Exiting: Error getting config for fielset apache2/access: Error interpreting the template of the prospector: template: text:3:22: executing "text" at <.paths>: range can't iterate over /apache/logs/access.log
Exiting: Error getting config for fielset apache2/access: Error interpreting the template of the prospector: template: text:3:22: executing "text" at <.paths>: range can't iterate over /apache/logs/access.log

filebeat.yml;
#------------------------------- Apache2 Module ------------------------------
filebeat.modules:

• module: apache2
    access:
    enabled: true
    var.pipeline: with_plugins
    var.paths: /apache/logs/access.log
    #prospector:
    error:
    enabled: true
    var.paths: /apache/logs/error.log
    #prospector: