GC Collection (OLD) on Data Node brings node offline

Hi all,

I am a newbie to elasticsearch, and I have an issue with my ES cluster.d).

“Something” triggers one of the data nodes to do an extensive old GC which lasts for a few minutes. During this GC’ing the master node marks the data node offline (which puts the cluster into the yellow state), the 2 other data nodes then start to replicated shards for redundancy. Once the offline data node finishes GC’ing, the master node sees it again, and then all 3 data nodes start to re-balance. I’d say the cluster is maybe yellow for a few minutes. It takes approx 15 minutes for the cluster to have 3 data nodes balanced.

At the moment I am not sure what this “something” is, but would like some assistance (if possible) in tying to understand if there is anything cluster side I can do.

Initially we did have only 2 data nodes, and recently (last 2-3 weeks) have added a new data node. When we had only 2 data nodes, the old gc’ing would only take maybe 12 seconds (always under 30 seconds), it would never cause the cluster to go yellow. Since we scaled out by adding 1 extra data node, we notice that when ever we have issues, we see at least one data node running an old gc scan, which lasts a few minutes.

During this issue, datanode (Mcu9vw9) was marked as unavailable.

This is the view via kibana monitoring:

This is the GC collection that i see on the data node
[2019-11-24T23:03:58,807][WARN ][o.e.m.j.JvmGcMonitorService] [MCu9vw9] [gc][old][908655][186] duration [2.1m], collections [1]/[2.2m], total [2.1m]/[7.4m], memory [4.9gb]->[1.5gb]/[5.9gb], all_pools {[young] [498.2kb]->[9.9mb]/[266.2mb]}{[survivor] [33.2mb]->[0b]/[33.2mb]}{[old] [4.9gb]->[1.5gb]/[5.6gb]}

We are running rather old elasticsearch products (5.6.16), planning is in progress to upgrade.
Java is AWS Corretto 8_232

Hi @Newbie2019