Getting internal "_id" field via jdbc

Hello,

I'm new to elasticsearch and as far as I've read, _id field is not accesible via sql endpoint at the moment.

I've read some posts about duplicating it as a regular field in order to reach via sql endpoint. But I cannot find a document about how to actually do it.

Can you please advise?

Welcome!

Easiest thing is to do that from the client which is sending data to Elasticsearch:

PUT /index/_doc/1
{
  "id": "1",
  "foo": "bar"
}

If this does not work for you, there are many other options, like using runtime fields or using an ingest pipeline to set this value automatically at index time... Something like:

PUT _ingest/pipeline/set-id
{
  "processors": [
    {
      "set": {
        "field": "id",
        "value": "{{{_id}}}"
      }
    }
  ]
}

And then call:

PUT /index/_doc/1?pipeline=set-id
{
  "foo": "bar"
}

Or define the pipeline as a default one.

As you can see, many options. So please clarify your exact need and architecture so we can give even better answers :wink:

BTW I did not check initially but where dii you see that you can't access the _id field using the SQL layer?

Hello,

This is stated here, on several posts from elastic team members. One example being --> Is there a way to access internal _id and _type fields in ES SQL query (XPack)?

I need to extract data from elasticsearch into a relational database. Since the data contains no logical unique keys (even not a composite one), I have to rely elastic _id field to ensure data consistency. But I cannot reach the field via elasticsearch JDBC driver.

Any suggestions?

It's from 2019. 5 years ago. Did you try it? I meant that the post was about filtering by id not getting back the id.

I think I proposed some options already.

Well, of course I tried :slight_smile: