Grok multiline parse failures

Hello,

I am fairly new to ELK stack and currently am having issues with GROK filter.

My pattern matches when using http://grokconstructor.appspot.com, but it still seems to be breaking on a particular log pattern that has multiple lines/spaces.

Example log:

2017-10-19 13:35:03,732 ERROR [org.jboss.msc.service.fail] (MSC service thread 1-7) MSC000001: Failed to start service jboss.undertow.listener.default: org.jboss.msc.service.StartException in service jboss.undertow.listener.default: Could not start http listener
at org.wildfly.extension.undertow.ListenerService.start(ListenerService.java:150)
at org.jboss.msc.service.ServiceControllerImpl$StartTask.startService(ServiceControllerImpl.java:1948)
at org.jboss.msc.service.ServiceControllerImpl$StartTask.run(ServiceControllerImpl.java:1881)
at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor.runWorker(ThreadPoolExecutor.java:1142)
at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor$Worker.run(ThreadPoolExecutor.java:617)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:745)

Pattern I'm using:

match => [ message => "(?m)%{TIMESTAMP_ISO8601:timestamp}\s+%{LOGLEVEL:loglevel}%{SPACE}[%{DATA:class}]\s(%{DATA:thread})\s(?(.|\r|\n)*)" ]

Any suggestions is greatly appreciated.

Why do you need all the (?(.|\r|\n)*) stuff at the end? Don't you want to catch everything after the thread name in one field?

Don't use DATA in multiple places. You don't need it. Use (?<class>[^\]]+) and (?<thread>[^)]+) instead. (Side node: I suspect "class" is the wrong fieldname. I suspect it's actually the logger name, although the logger name usually happens to be the same as the class name.)

Thanks for the reply.

I've replaced class/thread with your suggestions. My goal is to capture everything after thread into a field "logmessage".

I've tried: (?(.|\r|\n)*) and %{GREEDYDATA:logmessage} but both appear to not parse the next lines and give me the grokparseerror: