Grok patterns - failed to match - java logs

Hi all,

I'm a newbie and I learnt by watching several tutorials. I'm enjoying and sweating too!

I'm trying to match errors in my java output log. I wrote a grok pattern as below and it matches in grokdebug.herokuapp.com but it's not working when I config it. Can anyone tell me where I'm missing?

Much appreciated, please

Log file:

> [04-10 02:48:26]  Test case assertion error
 java.lang.AssertionError: Failed to create profile: filterTesting
> [04-09 16:47:33]  Remote callback: unable to map server sent proxy Id=97 to client side proxy object=null from idToClientProxy. 
> [04-09 16:47:33]  Remote callback: unable to map server sent proxy Id=97 to client side proxy object=null from idToClientProxy. 

I need to match only the error portion of it. SO I wrote the pattern as

\[%{GREEDYDATA:date}\] %{GREEDYDATA:FailureType}\n%{JAVACLASS:JavaClassError}(?:\:%{SPACE}%{GREEDYDATA:FailureReason})

My simple.conf file is as follows:

input {
        file {
               path => "/home/surajr/Documents/java.log"                       
       }
}
filter {
        grok{
                match => { "message" => "\[%{GREEDYDATA:date}\] %{GREEDYDATA:FailureType}\n%{JAVACLASS:JavaClassError}(?:\:%{SPACE}%{GREEDYDATA:FailureReason})" }
        }

}
output{
     if [date] and [FailureType] and [JavaClassError] {
         file {
                        path => "/home/surajr/Documents/output.log"
                        codec => "plain"
                }
    }
    else {
           file {
                        path => "/home/surajr/Documents/output2.log"
                        codec => "plain"
                }
    }
}

You should use the multiline codec. This way you don't have to deal with the /n.

https://www.elastic.co/guide/en/logstash/current/plugins-codecs-multiline.html

Thanks for the reply. Yes. I implemented multi line codec.