Groovy & Multiple term filters problem

(Mark Johnson) #1

Im using Groovy. With the following query below im getting the error (bold). can anyone tell me where I am going wrong with my query,
cheers

Class
java.lang.NullPointerException
Cannot invoke method getAt() on null object

query {
filtered {
query {
query_string (query: query_terms)
}
filter {
and {
filters [{
term {
subject = params.subject
}
}
{
term {
provid = params.provider
}
}]
_name = "is_this_needed"
}
}

}
}
}
facets {
subject {
terms {
field = 'subject'
}
}
provider {
terms {
field = 'provid'
}
}
}

(Shay Banon) #2

Maybe its the part that transforms the closure to a json? Where is the
failure coming from? If so, I just took that code from grails, it seems to
have its quirks, not sure why since I am not a groovy expert...

On Fri, Jan 20, 2012 at 4:02 PM, Mark Johnson Mark@k-int.com wrote:

Im using Groovy. With the following query below im getting the error
(bold). can anyone tell me where I am going wrong with my query,
cheers

Class
java.lang.NullPointerException
Cannot invoke method getAt() on null object

query {
filtered {
query {
query_string (query: query_terms)
}
filter {
and {
filters [{
term {
subject =
params.subject
}
}
{
term {
provid =
params.provider
}
}]
_name = "is_this_needed"
}
}
}
}
}
facets {
subject {
terms {
field = 'subject'
}
}
provider {
terms {
field = 'provid'
}
}
}

--
View this message in context:
http://elasticsearch-users.115913.n3.nabble.com/Groovy-Multiple-term-filters-problem-tp3675518p3675518.html
Sent from the ElasticSearch Users mailing list archive at Nabble.com.

(Mark Johnson) #3

The problem comes at the line:

filters [{

It doesnt seem to like the array use

would it be useful for me to print the Trace here?

(egaumer) #4

Keep in mind that what you're writing is groovy, not actual JSON.
JSONBuilder (grails) is there to provide a DSL. I typically just write pure
groovy code because of all the JSONBuilder quirks. It also makes modifying