Having clause equivalent

hi everyone,
i am new to elasticsearch.
i am trying to do something like a keep alive track from a service, it sends every X minutes a new record to ES.
i want to query all the servers that did not send this message in the last Y minutes.
(this sounds to me like a group by + having clause equivalent but maybe it can be achieved otherwise)

i would appreciate some help.
thanks.

Assuming that your documents have some structure like this:

{
    "serviceId" : "someServiceA",
    "lastPing" : "2015-11-11T18:19:28"
}

and you can make sure that each service has send at least one keep alive doc in the past, you could do a Terms Aggragation for grouping all the docs of one service and then get the doc with the last ping timestamp with a Max Aggregation like so:

GET /test/keepAlive/_search?search_type=count
{
  "aggs": {
    "services": {
      "terms": {
        "field": "serviceId"
      },
      "aggs": {
        "last": {
          "max": {
            "field": "lastPing"
          }
        }
      }
    }
  }
}

The result should contain buckets for each service looking something like this, which you can then go through to find out which services havend responded in the last X minutes or so:

{
               "key": "someServiceA",
               "doc_count": 3236,
               "last": {
                  "value": 1447265968000,
                  "value_as_string": "2015-11-11T18:19:28.000Z"
               }
            }

hi,
thanks for the response.
i have another question.
can i check if the server sent me two messages in the past x minutes?
(i guess i could use min on the last ping and max on the last ping and compare them) but can this be achieved in a different way?
as i understand this is a "having clause" that is not supported in elastic search.
thanks

Hi Gil,