Help: Elasticsearch Regexp query

Hello All,
I am new to elasticsearch and recently started using ES 6.x which is integrated with one of the third party application which stores all the data using indexes in ES. I have a scenario where I would like to read documents from ES using query, and for this, I have started exploring ES search query to read the documents containing specific key=value pairs, I have started with exact match search query i.e.

{"query":{"bool":{"must":[{"match_phrase":{"input":{"query":"key=values"}}}],"filter":[{"range":{"startTime":{"gte":"now-10d","lt":"now"}}}]}}}

This above query returns me correct documents which matches with "key=value" and field 'input' is of type 'text' which is controlled by the third party app and sample format of how "input" field looks like in ES output is:

"input":"{key1=76f435fe-ac81-49aa-8050-8c647922e51d, key2={key3=1234, key4=AB}}"

Now, I would like to write generic query which matches a specific regex pattern for values and give me all the documents and i have tried this below query but doesn't work i.e. does not return any results

{"query":{"regexp":{"input":"key4=[A-Z]{2}"}}}

could anyone please advise where i am going wrong with regexp query?

Thanks, Ketan

Hi Ketan.
Two possibilities -

1. Case sensitivity - try search for lowercase eg key4=[a-z]{2}
  2. There is no single "word" in the index of that form.

Fields of the type text are typically chopped into word tokens or "terms" and normalized. The exact behaviour depends on your choice of "Analyzer" but typically lower-casing and removing all punctuation are things an Analyzer will do. In your case a document with key4=AB may well have been tokenized into terms key4 and ab, neither of which match the regexp key4=[A-Z]{2}.
If the field was mapped as a keyword type then the matching process would be much less mysterious - the doc content would be a single term in the index.

Thanks @Mark_Harwood for your inputs.