Help Needed with Logstash 1.5 OOM error

I am a newbie at logstash and I am working on setting it up for my environment, but after a few hours of running it logstash crashes with the flowing error Error:

Your application used more memory than the safety cap of 500M.
Specify -J-Xmx####m to increase it (#### = cap size in MB).
Specify -w for full OutOfMemoryError stack trace

I have used multiline, grok and mutate filters in my config file. I have also gone through all the comments on the webpage https://github.com/elastic/logstash/issues/3003 , it seems to me that multiline filter has some problem with memory leaks and hence my heap size gets exhausted. The only immediate solution I see right now is to increase my heap size and then try to tune it further, but I not really sure as to how to do that it is a parameter in logstash config or is it a setting in JVM?

Can you please let me know as to how can I Increase the heap size and Is there any other longterm solution to this problem ?

Thanks in advance ,
Rahul

Hi Rahul,

Are you using the multiline filter or codec? The multiline codec has been updated to prevent OOM problem for inputs when multiline boundaries are never detected. If you are using the multiline filter I strongly suggest you switch to the multiline codec.

If this is in fact related to multiline, this mean that there is a problem detecting the multiline pattern in some way. You will have to fix this regardless.

Colin

Hi Colin,

I am using multiline filter. How do I switch to multiline codec ?
Can I find any documentation anywhere ?

Filter that I have used

multiline {
type => "Weblogic"
pattern => "^<%{MONTH} %{MONTHDAY}, %{YEAR} %{TIME} (?:AM|PM) (CEST)>"
what => "previous"
negate =>"true"
}

Any suggestions on how to convert this ?

Thanks,
Rahul

Rahul,

Can you share your current config?

Colin

I am using multiline filter. How do I switch to multiline codec ?
Can I find any documentation anywhere ?