How do I replace timestamp field with the time stamp field inside my log file?

Hi i am very new to the elk stack. I have a log file that shows the date and time of when a file was processed but when I send it off to elasticsearch the timestamp field that shows up is the current date and time. How do I have to configure the logstash config file so that instead of having the real time timestamp I can have the timestamp of the log file?

the way I am processing this log is: filebeat > logstash > elasticsearch > kibana

this is an example of the data in the log file:
10.01.17 18:24:02.85 SchLd: Added schedule record: Count[0051] J[0050][CD 0111]EffDt[17 Oct 31]Freq[.2.....]DscDt[17 Oct 31]ImplDt[17 Jul 25]

I want the time stamp to be replaced with the first part "10.01.17 18:24:02.85"

here is my config file :

input {
beats {
port => "5043"
}
}

output {
elasticsearch {
hosts => [ "localhost:9200" ]
}

I really appreciate your guy's help!

https://www.elastic.co/guide/en/logstash/5.6/plugins-filters-date.html is 100% what you are after :slight_smile:

I tried looking through it but I still cant seem to figure it out.
I changed my config file to the following but I still get the timestamp of when it read it.

input {
beats {
port => "5043"
}
}
filter{
date {
match => ["message", "MM.dd.yy HH:mm:ss.SS"]
target => ["@timestamp"]
}
}
output {
elasticsearch {
}
}

message is the entire line. You need to parse the date and time out into a single field using a dissect or grok filter and then pass that to the date filter. Think of the date pattern as being anchored at both ends -- ^MM.dd.yy HH:mm:ss.SS$

Ok I was able to extract the date in my logfile and replace the timestamp with it...but for lines in my log file that do not contain a date it puts in the current time of when it read those lines. For example there are lines that just contain "****", "Job Ended", etc... Is there a way to replace the date of those lines with the date my log was created?