How does Elastic's term index work?

Hello folks, I'm currently trying to improve the performance of an Elastic cluster, which isn't easy because I'm no expert. The cluster is made of 6 data nodes and 3 master nodes, the 6 data nodes having 64G of memory (~31 of which dedicated to the Java heap), 12 CPUs, and 32TB of storage each. (Note that I'm not in control of the infrastructure.) It currently holds 710 indices, split into 4,210 shards, containing 140,878,512,079 docs, using up 129.36TB.

One thing that stands out when looking at the cluster performances is the heap usage: it's constantly above 90% on all 6 data nodes. This is what GET /_cluster/stats?human&pretty returns; most specifically, the segments part:

"segments" : {
    "count" : 23252,
    "memory" : "145.5gb",
    "memory_in_bytes" : 156258619814,
    "terms_memory" : "100.9gb",
    "terms_memory_in_bytes" : 108396686231,
    "stored_fields_memory" : "42.3gb",
    "stored_fields_memory_in_bytes" : 45459085936,
    "term_vectors_memory" : "0b",
    "term_vectors_memory_in_bytes" : 0,
    "norms_memory" : "4.5mb",
    "norms_memory_in_bytes" : 4786304,
    "points_memory" : "1.4gb",
    "points_memory_in_bytes" : 1533316923,
    "doc_values_memory" : "824.6mb",
    "doc_values_memory_in_bytes" : 864744420,
    "index_writer_memory" : "15.1mb",
    "index_writer_memory_in_bytes" : 15878264,
    "version_map_memory" : "13.1kb",
    "version_map_memory_in_bytes" : 13490,
    "fixed_bit_set" : "0b",
    "fixed_bit_set_memory_in_bytes" : 0,
    "max_unsafe_auto_id_timestamp" : 1571298991618,
    "file_sizes" : { }
    }

The terms_memory line is the one that strikes out first. From what I understand, terms are fields for which an inverted index is built, which is then stored in memory.

So in my head, it looks something like:

term1 -> doc1
term2 -> doc1,doc2,doc4
term3 -> doc3

Is it reasonably accurate so far?

If it is, I have more questions:

• Is this index replicated in the memory of each node?