How does replication works in detail?

Hello!

Assume we have an Elasticsearch cluster with 3 nodes n1, n2 and n3. We have created an index on this cluster with one shard and two replicas with a significant amount of data in (one shard of the index is on each node). Then assume node n1 stops working. After this, new data is added and some old data is deleted from the index. After some time node n1 comes up again and the changes to the index are replicated to the shard on n1.

I would be interested in how the replication is implemented. I assume that not all data but only the changes during the time when node n1 was down were transferred? Is this realized via some kind of oplog? Is there a maximal number of changes which are applied during the downtime of n1 which could be replicated and if this number is exceeded is then a complete shard replicated?

Thank you very much in advance and best regards,
Achim Weigel

Its both better and worse than you think it is. I'm no expert but it looks like when its time to assign a new shard this happens:

1. The current cluster state master reaches out to all nodes and asks "Do you have any data for this shard, if so what are the files and what are their checksums?"
  2. When all nodes reply the master assigns the shard to the node for which the least data must be send in the next steps.
  3. The node that contains the master instance of that shard starts sending its files to the node that was assigned the shard. During this process the master instance of that shard's translog isn't truncated so it can be replayed in its entirety on the newly assigned node. Also all old files are kept on the old node so they can be copied, even if they are no longer used there.
  4. Once the files on the new node match up with the snapshot of the current master shard the current master sends its translog to the new node for replay. It can also remove the old files that it had to keep.