How to connect to `elasticsearch` version `8.x` using `API Key` from `logstash`?

Hi,

I have been using ELK since last 5 years. My codebase is mostly for logstash where the input is a JDBC connection (DB) and after filtering output is the Elasticsearch cluster (for most of the cases).

So far I was using version 6.8.x for both Elasticsearch and logstash.

Recently I have updated to a new Elasticsearch cluster with version 8.11 (in my local), and I was successfully able to make it up and running for both ES and Kibana with SSL enabled, i.e., https://localhost:9200 for Elasticsearch.

Also I have created a plain and simple API Key for running shell scripts to create/manage index, templates etc., and those are also working fine.

The major problem I am facing now is with logstash. The same script that was working since last 5 years is now failing because of the connection issue with Elasticsearch due to security.

Can you please help me out on what are the required changes needed for the elasticsearch input, filter and output plugins to read and write to the ES cluster version 8.x?

Below is a small snippet of my logstash script's output plugin. Please guide me where am I getting it wrong.
Also, please suggest the changes I would need to do if I send the data to a remote cluster rather than in my own localhost.

Thank you in advance.

output {
	if "test_standalone" in [tags] {
		#stdout {
		#	codec => rubydebug {
		#		metadata => true
		#	}
		#}

# Insert in test Index
        elasticsearch {
            hosts => ["localhost:9200"]
            index => "test_new"
            document_id => "%{[@metadata][_id]}"
            api_key => "<API_Key ID>:<API_Key_encoded_value>"
            manage_template => false
            # action => "index"
            ssl_enabled => true
            retry_on_conflict => 5
            pipeline => "my_ingest_pipeline"
        }
	}
}

Please note, that I have used the api_key in <id_value>:<encoded_value> format here.

The error is-