How to index a file with elasticsearch 5.5.1

I'm new to Elasticsearch. I have successfully installed Elasticsearch with Kibana, X-pack and ingest-attachment. I have both Elasticsearch and Kibana running. I have kept it simple at the moment with the install using default options on a windows 2012 server. I have a directory on another drive w\mydocs and at the moment it just has 3 plain text files in it, but I will want to add others like pdf and doc file types. So now I want to get these files into Elasticsearches index.

I have set a pipeline and index up as follows.

PUT _ingest/pipeline/docs 
{
  "description": "documents",
  "processors" : [
    {
      "attachment" : {
      "field": "data",
      "indexed_chars" : -1
      }
    }]
}
PUT myindex
{
  "mappings" : {
    "documents" : {
      "properties" : {
        "attachment.data" : {
          "type": "text",
          "analyzer": "standard"
        }
      }
    }
  }
}

I then try to get m document into the index in the following way:
PUT localhost:9200/documents/1?pipeline=docs -d @/w/mydocs/README.TXT

looking around the net it seems I have to somehow get my document into Base64, but then I read that In this release of elastic, elastic doesn't store the document only the reference. When I come to set Elastic up for live we have 1000's of documents I cant believe that I would need to encode all of them to Base64 first, however if I have to how do I do it. My PUT statement above just fails.

Yes. Elasticsearch speaks JSON. You need to provide a JSON document. You can't "upload" a binary document.

Have a look at FSCrawler. It now has a REST endpoint which can act as a proxy to elasticsearch. So you can run:

echo "This is my text" > test.txt
curl -F "file=@test.txt" "http://127.0.0.1:8080/fscrawler/_upload"

HTH

1 Like

So what does ingest-attachment do? If I have to use FSCrawler is there any point to the ingest-attachment plugin