How to Index file system

I am new to elasticsearch framework and My task is to build a search engine for file server using ES framework. I am using ES 1.7 version. My high level requirements are below

1. The file should be searchable by its Name, date of creation and its contents(Full Text Search).

2 automatic completion should be enabled so partially entered filenames should also produce search hits.

3 The indexing should support the access control so that a user does not see files in the search result that did not belong to him.

For content based searching , i am thinking to use mapper-attachment plugin. However, i am not sure what would be the impact on performance. In my case , file server size is going to be huge. How can i minimize the total space taken by indexing ?

Also please suggest what can the best way to index file system. There can be scenarios like where file can be updated , deleted etc. How should i handle these scenarios and update\delete index.

Please suggest. Thank you.

For now, you can use FSRiver project which basically does that but note that this project is not maintained anymore as rivers have been removed in elasticsearch 2.0.

You can wait for logstash to do the same:

What I would do is to do it by myself in the mean time. So: read a filesystem, process files with Apache Tika, and send the generated JSON document to elasticsearch. For that, you need to code in Java.

Makes sense?

Hi David ,

Thank you for the response!

Your suggestion look good to me. However , I am not sure how to handle re-indexing. Since files can be deleted/updated in the file server so how should I approach for re-indexing? Do I need to re-index entire system in some time interval or there can be some other intelligent way? Please suggest.

Sounds like doing something similar to rsync, but in a logstash plugin.

I like this idea!

Well it depends of the number of files I guess.