How to manage elasticsearch logs: disk almost full

Dear Users,

I'm a newbie and this is the first time I use ELK stack.
I was able to deploy ELK stack and capture needed information. I created my first dashboard and visualizations. They are working as expected: we are capturing logs from two data delivery servers (let's say they are similar to FTP server).
So, in visualizations, we can see a lot of interesting statistics about: total amount of transferred data (daily, monthly, yearly and so on).

Unfortunately, I noticed that the used disk space is growing and disk is going to be full.
I read that the logs retention time can be set, some logs can be removed, ilm policy can be set and elasticsearch curator is a valid solution.

My questions are: do you have some particular suggestions about the right procedure to solve my problem without losing statistics already captured ?! what is the best procedure to reach the target? What happens to the "total amount of transferred data" value if I remove the logs?

My ELK stack version should be v.6.2.4 ( I read that in Kibana dashboard).

Could you please help me to detect the right way to solve the issue?

Many thanks to all of you.
Regards,
Mauro

You may consider first to summarize your raw data using rollup, then ceate vizualisations & dashboards from summarized data, then appy ILM to raw indices

1 Like

Many thanks, ylasri. I think it is a very hard task for a newbie, but I can search on google some example that could help me.

Do you think that this procedure will delete all information and statistics already collected and saved in the visualizations? in other words, I will lose the total amount of transferred files and sizes?

Thank you,
Mauro

Sorry, I think rollup feature is not included in v.6.2.4.
Since I can't change the version (I'm using a customized docker container), what is the alternative solution? Thanks.