How to modify total memory of existing nodes?

Hi,

I am new to elasticresearch. I have set up 3 node cluster following docker setup procedure explained as per section: Section Start a multi-node cluster with Docker Compose in below help link

Here is my cluster node infromation.
n id ramMax hm hp diskTotal heapCurrent
es03 Fozz 3.7gb 1.8gb 43 442.7gb 843.9mb
es01 fMbk 3.7gb 1.8gb 77 442.7gb 1.4gb
es02 TdIO 3.7gb 1.8gb 22 442.7gb 438.9mb

The default total memory for each node is ~ 3.7 GB, i want to increase this to 32GB for each node to deploy ML Pretrained models. How can i do this ? I am new to elastic please provide step-by-step instructions.

Regards
Santhosh M

First, you do not want to set 32 GB as that will go beyond the java compressed object pointers and actually be less efficient. I would suggest setting it to 28 GB.... That is a safe number.

The jvm memory size is set in the .env file

Download and save the following files in the project directory:

.env

To be clear, you will need all that memory available at startup or the nodes will fail.

Set the setting in the .env

Then
docker compose down
then
docker compose up -d
should work.

That would save the data and then create the new containers with the new memory size but still have the data / indices you already created because the volument mounts will not get destroyed.

Be careful :slight_smile:

Dear @stephenb

Thanks for the suggestions. Unfortunately there is no option to download the .env file that you wanted to share. May i please request you to upload this file again?

I already have an .env file as below.
What is the line that i need to add in crease the memory to 28GB ?

# Version of Elastic products
STACK_VERSION=8.11.1

# Set the cluster name
CLUSTER_NAME=docker-cluster

# Port to expose Elasticsearch HTTP API to the host
ES_PORT=9200
#ES_PORT=127.0.0.1:9200

# Port to expose Kibana to the host
KIBANA_PORT=5601
#KIBANA_PORT=80