How to start over - Help

I need help
I am still a beginner, and I did the following:
I am trying to load a large amount of data for comparison test.

I have created a simple PHP program to read MySQL data and load it into ES.
I have created an analyzer that I use on 1 field (char_filter:html_strip), and I have the rest of my fields mapped normally (not_analyzed).
I ran my program today and let it run for about 2 hours (loaded around 50K documents), and then had to leave work to start over. It was taking too long, and I am going to attempt running via a PHP CLI instead of via HTTP to, hopefully, improve the speed of the load.
I got home and attempted to DELETE the whole mammoth index. It finally showed that it was gone, but it is not.
I ran this with the default settings, which I know now was a rookie mistake.
Now, when I crank up ES, it is popping about 600mb of RAM and looks to be INITIALIZING 2 of the 5 shards.
SO I can't do anything.

Do I just wait on this INITIALIZING to finish or is there a way to just start over clean?

This is a test on my local PC, and I don't want to burn it up a couple thousand miles from my real home.

Heya, I strongly recommend you read the definitive guide. It's a great read and will get you started on the basic concepts. It's available online - see https://www.elastic.co/guide/en/elasticsearch/guide/current/index.html

Another good resource is here: https://www.elastic.co/webinars/get-started-with-elasticsearch/?baymax=default&elektra=docs&storm=top-video

I was working through it as I went. Being pushed from higher

I take this as your answer being, I have to let java finish cleaning up, or whatever it is doing.

This is a local dev (non-production) solution to my problem.

Answering the question, "How to start over?"

If, by chance, someone does make the same mistake I made and needs an actual answer.

I REPEAT! :smiley: This is a local development environment. It can just go away.