How to use "syslog_hostname" in Kibana Visualization?

Hi,

I'm very new to ELK ; managed to set up an environment where syslog events are shipped via Filebeat to an ELK server for the actual reporting.... From Kibana --> Discover, I can see the active syslog events , and can filter to events of interest when specifying "source" along with fields "syslog_hostname" and "message" . I saved the search... =)

Now, I'd like to create a visualization, i.e. events over time, but using the "syslog_hostname" to identify the actual sendiers.. as opposed to using Filebeats index "source" which seems to only show the address of the syslog collector... . .. how is this done? I try to specify the saved search, but from there I'm stuck...

Can you elaborate a bit more on what kind of graph you'd like to create? For instance, are you trying to create a line chart with a separate line for each "syslog_hostname"?

I'm looking to create a vertical bar chart that tracks the # of events over time.
From some examples I've seen, Y-axis is count of events, X-Axis would be time, but the bar itself can somehow be split up to show a breakdown on the actual Ip addresses? (using some sort of Sub-aggregation)....

similar to what's shown here, where the bar is divided into multiple IP addresses...

To add,
I'm using the following for part of my logstash config... thanks

filter {
if [type] == "syslog" {
grok {
match => { "message" => "%{SYSLOGTIMESTAMP:syslog_timestamp} %{SYSLOGHOST:syslog_hostname} %{DATA:syslog_program}(?:[%{POSINT:sys
log_pid}])?: %{GREEDYDATA:syslog_message}" }
add_field => [ "received_at", "%{@timestamp}" ]
add_field => [ "received_from", "%{host}" ]
}
syslog_pri { }
date {
match => [ "syslog_timestamp", "MMM d HH:mm:ss", "MMM dd HH:mm:ss" ]
}
}
}

If I'm understanding correctly, I think you'll want to do something like below. Change "clientip" in the terms agg into "syslog_hostname". Let me know if this isn't quite what you want.

Thanks Matt,