How visualize location on map with Vega Plugin

Hi, I am new to kibana and vega, I am trying to create a map visualization like this exemple.
I have a index called geoloc with document containing "location" as a geo_point type and a "pop" field as a number type.
I want to present the sum of pop field by location on my map but I don't know how to recovery the data needed.
I was able to make it with kibana but I can't make it in vega.

Here is my query :
data: {
    url: {
      index: geoloc
      %context%: true
      %timefield%: @timestamps
      body: {
        aggs: {
          table: {
            composite: {
              sources: [
                {
                    geohash_grid: {field: "location", precision: 3}
                  }
                }
                {
                  population: {
                    sum: {field: "pop"}
                  }
                }
              ]
            }
          }
        }
      }
    }
  }

@fifilanthrope, the cloropleth example you linked is not very good with your aggregation. Cloropleth vis requires closed polygons (shapes/regions), with each region filled with a different color. If your data is a set of points, you need to convert each point into some "region code". I think there was some effort in Elasticsearch to support that conversion automatically (e.g. you pass shapes to ES, and it aggregates points into clusters based on those shapes). When you use grid aggregation, you can only clump points together into a grid. You can use Vega to draw those points, e.g. this example, but to do that you will have to somehow calculate latitude and longitude from the geohash, which is not very simple (see algorithm

I have in my index a field state containing the first 2 letters of each states as a string, can i use it ?
Do you have any simple example of queries ? I don't really understand how queries must be write in vega.