I/O wait is increasing after many reindexing

Hello,

I'm trying to find some response here, since I think I exhausted all my solutions on that problem.
I'm also totally new with this subject.

I am working on an old ELK (5.5), hosted on a docker in a dedicated VM hosted on mutualised server.
A list of actions had been made on it that had the consequence to dramatically increase the I/O Wait.

1. The VM has been put on a different disk, better faster and so on..
  2. It has been restarted
  3. Since it didn't worked properly, they restarted also the docker inside
  4. During two weeks, a colleague made each day a reindexing on the whole ELK
    -> what you can see during this period is that sometimes the I/O wait increases and some times it gets back to its old values.
    As you can see on the stats on the attached image, sometimes the I/O wait increases and sometimes it gets back to normal during that period.

And now the I/O wait has increased so dramatically that the ELK slows down so much that some times the whole internet site is freezing.

We have 5 nodes on the cluster, the swap seems to be off and there is not much to read on the ealsticsearch.yml
So far, we tried force-merge and reindexing+forcemerge.. that seems to have increased the problem

May anyone experienced something similar and may have an idea about the causes and the solutions?

The stats for that period :

I stay at disposal to answer any question
Thank you very much for your help

Hello,
i have some more information.
Apparently, those redindexing were coupled with force merge.
So apparently we have one very big segment and few very little, and that is what makes this important i/o wait

I'm surprised the bot hasn't come by here yet, but Elasticsearch 5.x is far past End of Life and you should really look into upgrading as a matter of urgency. You will not find many people around here with 5.x experience, or those who have it probably haven't used it in a long time.