Improving Query Performance

Hello all,

I'm new in Elasticsearch and trying to find out why my query performance is so slow.

I have an index with 1M documents called "variantlist". I'm searching in "VariantIds" values with this query:

{"from":0,"query":{"terms":{"VariantIds.8":["382"]}},"size":10000,"_source":{"includes":["VariantIds"]}}

2193 documents have returned and it took 6.5 seconds! Isn't it too slow for this case? I mean 1M isn't a big number. My index has 185 MB size and system is running on single node. Index has 1 shard. JVM is running on 3072 MB memory and server has 16GB memory.

I've just included "VariantIds" field to improve performance but no luck.

Result image of my example query is here:

I can provide further information if it is needed. Any suggestions?

Could you share the mapping please? That tell us how you are indexing your data.

What happens with "size":1?

What size are your documents?

1 Like

Hi @Ignacio_Vera ,
my mapping is here.
This index is for testing purpose- we're trying to see the elasticsearch performance. So this is a bulk data, I'm creating VariantIds and VariantValues arrays randomly.

I've also a prodlist index but it isn't important for now.

Hi @dadoonet,

It took 2 milliseconds with size=1

So that's probably the reason.
You need to fetch 10000 documents per shard, send all of them to the coordinating node, then sort them and filter out the fields to send back.

You probably have big documents.

Hi @Christian_Dahlqvist,

There isn't any specific size of my documents. I'm creating it randomly.

Thanks, but I didn't understand your suggestion :slight_smile: you mean that we should divide the index by 10000 and run each in a different server?

I was just explaining all what elasticsearch has to do when you are running your query. And why it looks slow.

So, how can i improve this? Will this get faster if i delete all other fields except VariantIds field?