Index (ingest attachment) update in elastic search or storing multipe document in same index

Hi Team,

I am new to elasticseaarch.

I am using ingest attachment for indexing pdf, excel.. etc.. document. I am doing it with rest client. Is it possible i can update index.

I mean to say that when i do first POST request then it will index my first pdf document and in my second post request with same index i should able to do indexing of second pdf document. This means it will append 2nd pdf document with first one.

Thank you.

Hummmm. I don't think it's possible.

Actually update API does not support ingest:

For now, I believe you need to send the full document again, which means both PDFs.

@dadoonet

Thank you very much for your feedback.

Yes i need to send full document again both pdf.

I mean in first post request i am creating pipeline first and then indexing Base64 document. After some time according to my use case i want to upload another pdf base64 document in the same index so that any time user can upload document but when they search it will display how many files contain these search/query keyword.

As of now i am doing POST request with different different index value and i am searching document with respective index value.

I got some information https://www.elastic.co/guide/en/elasticsearch/reference/5.5/docs-update-by-query.html but i am not sure whether i can do index update with this.

can i do it with re-indexing in ingest attachment

is there any way i can do it ?

I am using java rest client.

Thank you :slight_smile:

Regards,
Gaurav

Following code sample create ingest pipeline

``create_pipeline () {[
RestClient requester = RestClient.builder( new HttpHost ("localhost", 9300),
                           new HttpHost ("localhost", 9200)).build();
    HttpEntity body = new NStringEntity("{ \"description\" : \"Extract attachment information\", \n" +
            "  \"processors\": [\n" +Preformatted text
            "    {\n" +