Indexing Performance drop after a few hours

Hi,
I'm having an issue with the Elasticsearch after a few hours (2-3 hours). There is a massive performance drop (50%-60%) but no symptoms as to why.

Setup:
Three nodes: 1 master two data nodes
Elasticsearch version: 7.12.0
Configuration: All recommended settings are in place (e.g., ulimits)
Purpose: Heavy Indexing Operation

CPU/Memory/Heap/File Descriptors/Thread count/Hot Threads/merge/delete/refresh are normal (no increase). So my application runs fine if I disable Elasticsearch. I also tried various heap sizes/node memory/refresh intervals, but there is no effect, and nothing in the log files (log level info)

I also looked at the wire statistics using Wireshark. When the performance drops, it seems it takes longer for the response to come back (http.time) but there is no change in RTT between the nodes.

PS: I'm new to Elasticsearch.

Any help is appreciated.
Thanks

Having a single master eligible node is bad as it makes that node a single point of failure. I would recommend making the data nodes master eligible as well for improved resilience.

Some additional information would be useful:

• How many indices and shards are you actively indexing into?
  • How many concurrent indexing porocesses/threads are you using?
  • What is the bulk size and average size of the indexed documents?
  • Are you assigning document IDs before indexing or allowing Elasticsearch to define the IDs?

Indexing in Elasticsearch can often be very I/O intensive. What type of hardware are you using? What type of storage are you using? Local SSDs?

Having a single master eligible node is bad as it makes that node a single point of failure. I would recommend making the data nodes master eligible as well for improved resilience.

Both data nodes are eligible to be the master node

• How many indices and shards are you actively indexing into?

Three indices (two heavy indices one light index). Two shards/index (primary and replica)