Ingest Attachment Plugin: How to add data to an existing array?

Hi :slightly_smiling_face:

I'm a beginner to Elasticsearch, so maybe this is simple to solve, but I haven't found a solution to my problem:
I have an object with an array containing attachment data, and I want to be able to append new data to this array. I know how to use the ingest plugin to retrieve the data out of attachments, and I know how to append to an array, but I cannot get both to work in a single step. Could someone help me? I'd be happy about any hint!

My current procedure is...suboptimal :see_no_evil: - for completeness, however:

1. Create a temporary index, where the data of an ingested attachment is stored
  • I have a processor for the attachments
    "processors": [
        {
            "foreach": {
                "field": "Attachments",
                "processor": {
                    "attachment": {
                        "target_field": "_ingest._value.attachment",
                        "field": "_ingest._value.data"
                    }
                }
            }
        },
        {
            "foreach": {
                "field": "Attachments",
                "processor": {
                    "remove": {
                        "field": "_ingest._value.data"
                    }
                }
            }
        }
    ]
  • and post it to /tmpattachments/_doc/randomid?pipeline=Attachments
  1. Recover the extracted information
  • Just use a get on the randomid generated in step 1.
  1. Again send this information to Elasticsearch, and this time use a script, to append it to the array AttachedFiles, where it should go:
    "script": {
        "source": "ctx._source.AttachedFiles.addAll(params.new)"
        "params": {
            "new": [
                {
                    "Content": "extracted info",
                    "Filename": "file.pdf"
                }
            ]
        },
    }
  • post it to /finaldestination/_update/123