Is Elasticsearch as a primary database better than Oracle?

Hi,
I am a student and my project is about Elastic Stack.
the company I work for is currently using oracle for managing its data.
they want assess Elasticsearch as a replacement.
according to my project success they will consider to transform from Oracle to Elasticsearch.

1. Does Elasticsearch can replace oracle?
  2. Elasticsearch search performance is faster?
  3. Is it reliable as a primary database?
  4. What are the main advantages of Elasticsearch over oracle? how can I demonstrate them in my code?

please I would love to know the answers

You need to read this page: https://www.elastic.co/guide/en/elasticsearch/resiliency/current/index.html

Have also a look at this "live coding" recording.

1 Like

thanks for answering:)

So in that point, I realize that Oracle can't be replaced by Elasticsearch as a primary database. It is not reliable enough as Oracle.
and the company I work for can use Elasticsearch in addition to Oracle db but not instead of it.
am I right?

I couldn't understand from what I read if Elastic is better than Oracle in search performance.
In Oracle I can define field as an Index to maximize search capabilities and in addition, Oracle makes parallel search on multiple servers as Elastic does. my data is numeric and Elastic is a textfull search engine. can Elasticsearch be better in search performance than Oracle? and why?

please..

What is your definition of better search performance? What is the use case?

I would expect the answer to depend a lot on the type of data and searches you have as well as the total data volume you need to search. The number of expected concurrent searches together with latency requirements will also be important factors to consider.

In a real world use case with large data volumes and high load, cost will probably also be a major factor to consider as Oracle and Elasticsearch scale very differently.

better search performance means faster search.