Is it mandatory to load the index template into Elasticsearch manually when using filebeat?

Hi,

I am pretty new to Filebeat. I am using Logstash to send logs to another Logstash which will send logs to Elasticsearch(Logstash1 to Logstash2 to Elasticsearch). Now I am planning to replace Logstash1 with Filebeat. Documents say to load the index template into Elasticsearch manually and my question is - if I am already using a template in Elasticsearch, do I still need to load the index template into Elasticsearch manually?

Thanks

It depends on where you are writing the Filebeat data to and whether the index template you have contains the appropriate mappings for the Filebeat fields. To be safe I would follow the directions.

My recommendation is to install the index template provided by Filebeat and write your data into the prescribed filebeat-<version>-* indices. Basically following the documentation and using the defaults. So you would manually load the Filebeat template as per the instructions. This template will apply to indices matching filebeat-6.2.4-*.

Then configure Logstash to output the beat data with this config.

output {
  elasticsearch {
    hosts => "localhost:9200"
    manage_template => false
    index => "%{[@metadata][beat]}-%{[@metadata][version]}-%{+YYYY.MM.dd}" 
    document_type => "%{[@metadata][type]}" 
  }
}

If you make any adjustments to index naming pattern then the template also needs to be changed.

Hi Andrew,

As per your suggestion, I would install the index template. But I have 4 Elasticsearch nodes(one coordinating node and 3 Data nodes). Do I need to install template on all 3 Data nodes one at a time using

curl -XPUT -H 'Content-Type: application/json' http://localhost:9200/_template/filebeat-6.2.4 -d@filebeat.template.json

And also is there a way to drop Beat fields? I am basically looking for same exact fields what I have right now with Logstash.