Is it possible to have dynamic attachment fields in slack action?

Hi there,
Thanks for elasticsearch and watcher, my devops job goes better.
When I was looking at slack action of Watcher, I started to wondering if there was a way to make dynamic attachment fields.
Dynamic attachments are wonderful, but sending multi attachments in one slack message sometimes makes the message too long to read, and when you have more servers, one message can fill the whole screen.
Is there a way to generate attachment fields, other than attachments? Or is there any script as an workaround?

I am new to watcher and elasticsearch, so please forgive me if the question is stupid.

Thanks!

Hey,

no stupid questions here, always ask! Now it's my turn to ask :slight_smile:

I couldnt extract, what exactly you are after, when reading your post. How exactly would you want to create the attachment? Should there be a cutoff after a certain number of attachments?

Have you seen the [dynamic attachments feature] (https://www.elastic.co/guide/en/watcher/2.4/actions.html#formatting-slack-messages) of watcher. What is missing there to make it work for you?

If there are too many hits being return and you need to reduce the number of you attachment a script transform inside of the slack action might be useful to reduce the number attachment before using dynamic attachment. See the transform documentation

Hope this helps!

--Alex

My slack message block is like this:
"message": {
"to": [
"#testground"
],
"text": "Last 24h exception source",
"dynamic_attachments" : {
"list_path" : "ctx.payload.sources",
"attachment_template" : {
"title" : "Instance: {{eventtype}}",
"text" : "Error Count: {{count}}",
"color" : "{{color}}"
}
}
}
When I have too many eventtype, the message will fill the slack screen and force user to scroll to read full message. If there are more than 20 then you need to expand the message.