Is the input speed of the elasticsearch cluster linear?

Hello guys, I am a newbie in elasticsearch. Recently I set up a elasticsearch cluster to save my logs.The cluster has 3 nodes, all of them serves as both master node and data node. I used logstash to foward data to the AWS load balancer, which will then seperate load to the 3 nodes.

The problem is, the throughput is really low, besides, I realized that it is not linear. With one node in the cluster, the throughput is 3666 events /sec when inputing. With two nodes, the throughput is 2750 per node per sec. When I am using all three nodes, the throughput is only 1666 per node per second.

Is the performance supposed to be like this? Or should the throughput linearly increase when adding nodes into the cluster? Hope you guys can give me some help. Thanks in advance.

It should increase by adding more nodes.

What does your LS output config look like? What instance size are you using?

Thanks for answering workolm.
My current situation is that I need to process at lease 34000 events per second, and I am trying to estimate how many notes do I need to process in this speed. I noticed that the processing speed is not linear as the number of node increases, so I wonder how to measure the exact node number.

Here is my LS ouput:

output {
elasticsearch {
bind_host => "localhost"
cluster => "elasticsearch-prodII"
workers => 8
protocol => "http"
flush_size => 200
}

If you have the standard 1 replica configured, I would expect 2 nodes to perform about the same as a single node as both nodes would hold and index all data. Once you add nodes from there on, you should see improved throughput assuming you do not change the number of replicas.

This also assumes that you are sending traffic to all nodes and that the nodes are not deployed on a single node where they fight for the same resources.