Issue setting up Index Lifecycle policy correctly

Hello. I'm new to setting up a proper Lifecycle policy, so I'm hoping someone can please give me a hand with this. So, I have an existing index getting created on a weekly basis. This is a third party integration (they provided me with the pipeline and index template for the incoming logs). Logs are being created weekly in the pattern "name-YYYY-MM-DD". I'm attempting to setup a lifecycle policy for these indexes so they transition from hot->warm->delete. So far, I have done the following:

Updated the index template to add the policy and set an alias:

{
  "index": {
    "lifecycle": {
      "name": "Cloudflare",
      "rollover_alias": "cloudflare"
    },
    "mapping": {
      "ignore_malformed": "true"
    },
    "number_of_shards": "1",
    "number_of_replicas": "1"

On the existing indexes, set the alias and which one is the "write" index:

POST /_aliases
{
    "actions" : [
        {
            "add" : {
                 "index" : "cloudflare-2020-07-13",
                 "alias" : "cloudflare",
                 "is_write_index" : true
            }
        }
    ]
}

POST /_aliases
{
    "actions" : [
        {
            "add" : {
                 "index" : "cloudflare-2020-07-06",
                 "alias" : "cloudflare",
                 "is_write_index" : false
            }
        }
    ]
}

Once I did that, I started seeing the following 2 errors (1 on each index):

I'm not sure why the "is not the write index" error is showing up on the older index. Perhaps this is because it is still "hot" and trying to move it to another phase without it being the write index?

For the second error, is this because the name of the index is wrong for rollover?