Java HighLevelRestClient search problem

I am new to ElasticSearch and have been trying to write Java EE to bring data in from an Informal DB and then run user searches on it. I have been able to get the indexing to work and am able to retrieve a specific indexed document via 'GET /index/type/id' type structure, but when I try to search for a string I get various errors. Currently, I am running on a local instance of ElasticSearch ver6.0.0 on my MacBook Pro. I also have a local instance of Kibana running and am able to retrieve data within it.

My code looks like this:

public SearchResponse searchRecord(String searchString ) throws RadarException {

SearchRequest searchRequest = new SearchRequest(); 
        SearchSourceBuilder searchSourceBuilder = new SearchSourceBuilder(); 
        searchSourceBuilder.query(QueryBuilders.queryStringQuery(searchString)
                                                    .lenient(Boolean.TRUE)
                                                    .autoGenerateSynonymsPhraseQuery(Boolean.FALSE)); 
        searchRequest.source(searchSourceBuilder); 
        searchRequest.types("njcrash");   //put in to see if specifying a type would fix error when type was not specifed

SearchResponse searchResponse;

try {
            searchResponse = restClient.search(searchRequest);

} catch (Throwable t) {
            throw new RadarException("Search faild: " + searchRequest.source().toString(), t);
        }

I get the following error (just a segment from the stack dump):

[type=parsing_exception, reason=[query_string] query does not support [auto_generate_synonyms_phrase_query]]]

The following is the generated search string that was executed ('searchRequest.source()'):