Kibana Regex Searching Problems

Running into an issue that I hope some folks on here can help me with. I've been using the stack for quite a few years and had no issues with regex searching up until now. I've recently upgraded to 6.4.2 on the entire stack. I CAN run regex searches via POSTs to the elastic cluster and get results; however, Kibana searching using the double / will never return a result now.

I figured it must be related to the separation of keywords/text fields but I AM able to run regex queries through a POST to the elastic cluster directly. I originally had dynamic mappings setup and figured maybe it had something to do with that then switched over to adding a "keyword" type field to each object. This didn't fix it either so I have now tried setting the field as strictly a keyword type and that's it. Still no success. I know _all was deprecated and wasn't sure if this was also part of the issue. Below are some of the configs/info.

Mappings
{  
   "fast_doc":{  
      "mappings":{  
         "doc":{  
            "properties":{  
               "filename":{  
                  "type":"keyword"
               }
            }
         }
      }
   }
}

Not working kibana search
filename:/[0-9a-zA-Z]{8}/

Successful elastic query
POST /fast_doc/_search
{
  "query": {
    "regexp": {
      "filename": "[0-9a-zA-Z]{8}"
    }
  }
}

Hey @jasonazzarella,

I tried your example, and the regex query worked for me:

I don't expect it to help, but you mentioned that you switched from a dynamic mapping to a fixed mapping. When you switched, did you happen to refresh your index patterns in Kibana? If not, can you perform that refresh (under Management -> Index Patterns), and give it another try?

Thanks for the reply!