Learning to create watches

Hi everyone. I set out to create a really simple alert, when the CPU idle percentage drops below 20% I want an alert. For simplicity I chose the logging action and metric beats is running on a few servers and posting data.

I found this really difficult! I'm a seasoned developer and I'm using the ElasticSearch reference pages but it still took a looooong time to get this to begin to function, I'll paste the PUT request I finally came up with but I have some questions:

1. Are there plans to create a UI for this?
  2. The docs say to use ctx.payload.hits.hits.0.fields.theThingIWant, didn't work for me. Is the syntax I have with blah.hits.0._source a bad idea?
  3. This get's the most recent result where the idle %age is less than 0.2, but what if three servers were running hot. How would I change this to create alerts for all three? I can change the size property and I guess a date range would be a good idea but how do I deal with a collection of results in the action section?
  4. Is there a good tutorial for system vitals monitoring like this?
  5. Is this too many questions in one post?

Here's the PUT request:

PUT _xpack/watcher/watch/CPU_spike
{
  "trigger": {
    "schedule": {
      "interval": "10s"
    }
  },
  "input": {
    "search": {
      "request": {
        "indices": [
          "metricbeat-*"
        ],
        "body": {
          "size": 1,
          "sort" : { "@timestamp" : "desc" },
          "query": {
            "exists": {
              "field": "system.cpu.idle.pct"
            }
          }
        }
      }
    }
  },
  "condition" : {
    "compare" : {
      "ctx.payload.hits.hits.0._source.system.cpu.idle.pct" : {
        "lte" : 0.2
      }
    }
  },
  "actions": {
    "log": {
      "logging": {
        "text": "{{ctx.payload.hits.hits.0._source.beat.name}} is only idle at {{ctx.payload.hits.hits.0._source.system.cpu.idle.pct}}"
      }
    }
  }
}

Hey there,