List of string must match all provided values

Hi,

I'm new to Elastic Search, and I simply would like to make a query that filter all entries that have exactly all the supplied values (not an OR but an AND).

Here is an example of my document

[
    {
    "Areas" : [
    "Area A",
    "Area B",
    "Area C",
    "Area D"
    ],
    "UserId" : "User 1"
    },
    {
    "Areas" : [
    "Area A",
    "Area C",
    ],
    "UserId" : "User 2"
    }
]

Let's say I want to filter all entries where Areas contains all the values "Area A" and "Area B"

I tried with the terms filter but it provides an OR filering, so here both my User 1 and User 2 are selected where I would like only the User 1

"query": {
        "bool": {
          "must": [
            {
              "terms": {
                "areas.keyword": [
                  "Area A",
                  "Area B"
                ]
              }
            }
          ]
    	 }
    	}

Here is the field mapping

"areas": {
          "type": "text",
          "fields": {
            "keyword": {
              "type": "keyword",
              "ignore_above": 256
            }
          }
        }

Could you help me please ?
Thank you

I tried this

{
          "match_phrase": {
            "areas": "Area A"
          }
        },
          {
          "match_phrase": {
            "areas": "Area B"
          }
        }
      ]
	 }
	}

it seems to work, but is it correct or does it exist a better solution ?

@Nicolas_Rey
Can you try this

{
        {
          "term": {
            "Areas.keyword": "Area A"
          }
        },
        {
            "Areas.keyword": "Area B"
          }
        }
      ]
    }
  },
  "sort": [
    {
      "_doc": {
        "order": "asc"
      }
    }
  ]
}

Also note your mapping has field name areas lower case A. But document has field with upper case A.

1 Like

Have you looked at the terms set query?

1 Like

@Vinayak_Sapre