Log Timezone Question

I have been searching through the threads, but I haven't been able to fins a solution. Essentially, I have a log source that ships logs in UTC. I need to adjust them for my timezone, but changing the zone in the logstash config hasn't changed it. The logs show up in Kibana with a timestamp that is offset by the exact amount of my timezone. I'm sure it must be something simple.

Version: 7.5

Logs are stored in elasticsearch in UTC, so specify UTC as the timezone in the date filter.

I apologize, I'm new to using ELK. Do you mean use the date filter in the logstash config? Right now, I have the input section as follows:

input {
     syslog {
         timezone => "UTC"
         port => "5514"
         type => "syslog"
         tags => [ "OS_SysLog" ]
     }
 }

If I am correct so far, do I just need to add the following?

date {
    timezone => "UTC"
}

Thanks in advance.

OK, I misunderstood. If your syslog entries are arriving with a timestamp in UTC then that syslog input should be OK and you would not need a date filter. They would be stored in elasticsearch as UTC and kibana (with the default settings) would translate them into the timezone where kibana runs.

Maybe that's the problem - my device isn't actually sending in UTC. I will verify that again. If it is actually sending in a different time zone, say EST, would the following be what is required?

date {
    timezone => "America/New_York"
}

Ok, making progress. The logs are in fact NOT being sent in UTC. So, should be a simple fix. I just need to build the correct date filter.

The logs come in this format:

GeneratedTime 2019/12/10 13:20:27

Edit: I previously gave the incorrect format.

If the date is in the right format then the syslog filter will parse it and that is where you would set the timezone. There would be no need for a date filter in that case. However in the format you have you will need to use a date filter.

Ok. It sends the date as follows:

GeneratedTime