Login kibana without UI (using token)

Hi,

I am new in the elastic stack.

My requirement is:
after users login to our website, they do not need to key in account/password again in order to access kibana.

So, I find this
https://www.elastic.co/guide/en/kibana/current/kibana-authentication.html#token-authentication

It says that I can access user info & perform some operations with that TOKEN.
However, what I want is bypassing the login page with that TOKEN. Is it possible?

Any suggestion is appreciated.

Many Thanks,

Han Shih

@Larry_Gregory / @Brandon_Kobel can you please shed some light here ?

Thanks
Rashmi

@frankShih,

Welcome to the discussion boards!

You can't directly use the Token Auth provider to bypass the login screen, as Kibana still requires a username and password to create the initial token. How are your users authenticating to your website? I have a couple of ideas for you:

If you're using a Single Sign-On solution such as SAML, AD/LDAP, or OpenID Connect, then you can take advantage of Kibana's SSO solutions to bypass the login screen.

Otherwise, you may want to consider putting a reverse-proxy (such as nginx) in front of Kibana which handles authentication on behalf of your users. An example of that can be found here: Auto-authenticating to iframe-embedded Kibana dashboard

Hi @Larry_Gregory ,

"How are your users authenticating to your website?"
=> Simply username and password

According to the link you provide, I think the scenario of that topic is:
When the user login the website, the dashboard embedded in the webpage (from kibana) should be shown automatically without another login.
(Correct me if I understand it wrong.)

My goal is very similar to the topic you provide:
After the user provide the username and password, I hope to find some "trick" that can use this information to bypass the login page from kibana.

So, is "reverse proxy" the right way I should go?

Thanks for your suggestion.