Logs from Firewall CheckPoint

Hello,

I am new in Elastic, and I want to send the logs of our firewalls CheckPoint to logstash. I configurate the log exporter in CheckPoint, however we dont know how received and configurate this information in logstash.

I need create one file in logstash with input and filters? Anyone have done it?

Any advance?

Not done it yet myself, but try the CheckPoint module in Filebeat.
You could, on your logstash server, run filebeat, with the checkpoint module enabled, listening on some port. You configure checkpoint to send logs to that port. Configure filebeat to read them in and then output to logstash.

Using this module benefits you because it comes with all the parsers to parse the chkp logs to the proper ecs fields, so you dont have to write filters in logstash to do that.

Hi,

I read the documentation, and I download filebeat 7.8 in my logstash server, this have CheckPoint module. I enabled it, and this have this configuration

• module: checkpoint
    firewall:
    var.syslog_host: 0.0.0.0
    var.syslog_port: 9001

I have a question, the var.syslog_host is the IP from CheckPoint firewall? And I need configure the output for send the elasticsearch or if I use this module I should be able of view from filebeat index pattern?

No, var.syslog_host is the interface on the logstash server to listen on. 0.0.0.0 means listen on all interfaces. Otherwise, you could just put in the IP of the logstash server itself, not the CHKP.
So on your CHKP, you configure it to send logs to UDP 9001 of the logstash/filebeat server IP.
Have you read https://www.elastic.co/guide/en/beats/filebeat/master/filebeat-module-checkpoint.html?

As for outputs, filebeat supports output directly to elasticsearch if desired, as well as to logstash and others. See https://www.elastic.co/guide/en/beats/filebeat/master/configuring-output.html