Logstash - Syslog Help - I am a total pleb

Hey Guys,

I am a noob when it comes to ELK but am really eager to get this set up. I am currently using ELK to store syslog from multiple firewalls. I am using a fortinet (which is seeming to be not that fun to work with). I am having all of the syslog from the Fortigate go to port 514, and attempting to have logstash parse the logs. I know the following thus far:

1. I am able to receive syslog on the Ubuntu instance on the server.
  2. Kibana is successfully receiving logs from beats and able to parse them with a logstash parser that I set up (followed a tutorial video on youtube).
  3. I cobbled together the franken-code below. Please let me know where you guys think I should look to go next. I have been playing around with configuration file for way too long... This is all in one file (which may be the problem?).

logstash conf file
input {
File {
path => "/var/log/syslog"
type => "syslog"
start_position => "beginning"
}
udp {
port => 514
type => "fortigate"
}
tcp {
port => 514
type => "fortigate"
}
}

Configure syslog filtering

for the Fortigate firewall logs

filter {
if [type] == "fortigate" {
mutate {
add_tag => ["fortigate"]
}
grok {
match => ["message", "%{SYSLOG5424PRI:syslog_index}%{GREEDYDATA:mes$
overwrite => [ "message" ]
tag_on_failure => [ "failure_grok_fortigate" ]
}

kv { }

if [msg] {
        mutate {
            replace => [ "message", "%{msg}" ]
        }
    }
    mutate {
        add_field => ["logTimestamp", "%{date} %{time}"]
        add_field => ["loglevel", "%{level}"]
        replace => [ "fortigate_type", "%{type}"]
        replace => [ "fortigate_subtype", "%{subtype}"]
        remove_field => [ "msg","type", "level", "date", "time" ]
    }
    date {
        locale => "en"
        match => ["logTimestamp", "YYYY-MM-dd HH:mm:ss"]
        remove_field => ["logTimestamp", "year", "month", "day", "time", "d$
        add_field => ["type", "fortigate"]
    }
}#end if type fortigate

}

output {