Loop through ctx.payload.hits.hits in transform

Excuse the basic questions but I am new to the product and forum.
I am attempting to build a watcher that parses a some of the hits messages and updates an index, but I feel my syntax is wrong. Unfortunately I only get told "Watcher: An internal server error occurred".

Lets say my query returns ctx.payload.hits.hits

{
  "type":"search",
  "status":"success",
  "payload":{
    "_shards":{
      "total":10,
      "failed":0,
      "successful":10,
      "skipped":0
    },
    "hits":{
      "hits":[
        {
          "_index":"fluentd-2018.01.15",
          "_type":"fluentd",
          "_source":{
            "log":"authlog",
            "@timestamp":"2018-01-15T11:00:01+00:00",
            "message":"blahblah"
          },
          "_id":"XHd6-WABt5EbJmIskQQn"
        }
      ]
    }
  }
}

Using a script transform I can create my own key with data from hits
"transform": {
"script": {
"source": "ctx.payload.transform = []; def document = ['bob': ctx.payload.hits.hits[0]._source.message]; ctx.payload.transform.add(document) ; return ctx.payload.transform;",
"lang": "painless"
}
}

But If I try to introduce a loop I get the server error.
"source": "ctx.payload.transform = []; def document = []; for (int j=0;j<ctx.payload.hits.hits;j++){ document = ['bob': ctx.payload.hits.hits[j]._source.message]; ctx.payload.transform.add(document) } ; return ctx.payload.transform;",
}
}

What is the correct syntax for iterating around my hits payload and retrieving data?

I have discovered my issue. The syntax does not allow for ";" to appear after closing the loop.
ie
" ctx.payload.transform.add(document) } ; "
becomes:
" ctx.payload.transform.add(document) } "

1 Like

Hello Steve,