Making User Recommendations

Hi, I am new to Elasticsearch and am trying to use Elasticsearch to create a simple recommendation engine that recommends friends to users. I have an index consisting of users which have the properties like so:

"id": 1000,
  "first_name": "john",
  "last_name": "john",
  "email": "test@email.com",
  "friends": [1001]

For example, the user above has id 1000 and I could query the user's friends with id 1001. What I would like to do is be able to query into user 1001's friends, and then return a filtered result of users whom are not user 1000's friends.

For clarity, if user 1001 is friends with user 1002 and 1003, I would like to have the response with these ids given that user 1002 and 1003 are not friends with user 1001.

My first attempt on this query:

GET _search
{
  "query": {
    "bool": {
      "must": [
        {
          "term": {
            "id": 1000
          }
        }
      ]
    }
  },
  "aggs": {
    "recommended_friends": {
      "terms": {
        "field": "friends",
        "size": 10
      }
    }
  }
}

The aggregation above returns a bucket of user 1000's friends. Then, I attempted to modify the aggregation again with:

"recommended_friends": {
      "filter": {
        "term": {
          "id": 1000
        }
      },
        "friends": {
          "terms": {
            "field": "friends"
          }
        }
      }
    }
  }

In the first aggregation with id:1000, I was just trying to filter out user 1000's friends. I am lost here and have been wondering if I am approaching this query the correct way. Is it possible to perform such a query in a single search?

I think I have found the solution. I am not sure if this is the best way of doing things but am still trying to find the best practices using elasticsearch.