Mapping advice

Hello,

I am extremely new to elasticsearch so be gentle, please.

I would like to get some advice on a mapping problem I am facing. I know that a type, once set, cannot be changed so if it is a string has to be a string throughout the same index.

Let's say I have got recipes to store in ES. Recipes have ingredients and each ingredient has a name and a quantity

"ingredients": [
    {"name": "Eggs", "quantity": 3},
]

The problem I have got is that quantity can be expressed numerically or as a string (e.g. 'a tablespoon')

So the question is shall I treat everything as a string or are there some clever solutions to this very kind of mapping problem? And If I treat everything as a string, would I loose the possibility to query something like "give me recipes where eggs > 3"?

Thank you for your advices.
m.

We are always happy welcoming new users! :slight_smile:

Well. My guess is that it won't work unless you send "quantity": "3".

Yes. That's a problem.

What you could potentially do is to create a subfield and use for this subfield the ignore_malformed option: ignore_malformed | Elasticsearch Guide [2.3] | Elastic

So something like:

"quantity": {
  "type": "string",
  "fields": {
    "numeric": {
      "type": "integer",
      "ignore_malformed": true
    }
  }
}

I did not test it but that could work.

It means that you would be able to search for numerical values in quantity.numeric.

In 5.0.0, you can use Node Ingest which would help you to transform your source by applying some mutation. And you can ignore failures as well.

1 Like

Hello @dadoonet,

thank you for you reply.

After reading the ignore_malformed docs, I am not sure to understand what is going to be ignored in this case.

To store a recipe I would do something like this I suppose:

PUT recipes/tarte/1
{
        {"name": "Eggs", "quantity": 3},
        {"name": "Salt", "quantity": "a pinch"},
    ]
}