Match_all query -- differences between the two queries?

Hello everyone,

I am studying the two queries, and tried but cannot find what are the differences with and without match_all part?

https://www.elastic.co/guide/en/elasticsearch/guide/current/_finding_exact_values.html

# Term filter with number
GET /my_store/products/_search
{
  "query": {
    "filtered": {
        "match_all": {}
      },
      "filter": {
        "term": {
          "price": 20
        }
      }
    }
  }
}

# Same as above, without the `match_all` query
GET /my_store/products/_search
{
    "filtered": {
      "filter": {
        "term": {
          "price": 20
        }
      }
    }
  }
}

thanks in advance,
Lin

There is no difference here. When you don't specify an actual query when using a filtered query, it defaults to a match_all query:

https://www.elastic.co/guide/en/elasticsearch/reference/current/query-dsl-filtered-query.html#_filtering_without_a_query

In either of your examples, you are simply filtering all documents where price is equal to 20.

1 Like

@Joshua_Rich, thanks and my confusion is I just need to filter the document to match the exact price value, why and how match_all works here? Match_all makes me think returning all document -- seems not related here to find/filter for an exact value.

regards,
Lin

Remember, you are using the search API here, your filter simply acts in the context of the search. You want to filter on price, but you still need to find some documents to apply this filter to. In your case, you don't care about specific documents, like documents containing a certain string etc. So you just search against all documents (a match_all query) and then filter those for price. Later on, you might want to just filter on documents with a certain feature/quality, like those containing a certain name or piece of text. That's when you'd actually specify some kind of query, then your filter just acts on those documents.

1 Like